Colorado DUI Accident Lawyer
Colorado is a state that actually has two criminal offenses related to drunk driving. Driving while ability impaired (DWAI) is often considered the lesser offense of driving under the influence (DUI), although the criminal penalties can be very similar.
While DUI and DWAI offenses most frequently involve alcohol, it is important to note that Colorado Revised Statute § 42-4-1301 does establish that a person can be charged with either crime if he or she is under the influence of one or more drugs—or a combination of alcohol and drugs. Since Colorado was one of the first states in the nation to legalize recreational cannabis, “drugged driving” has become more of an issue in the Centennial State.
If you suffered severe injuries or your loved one was killed by a motorist who was operating under the influence of drugs or alcohol, it is in your best interest to quickly retain legal counsel. Need an Injury Lawyer Colorado represent clients in communities throughout Denver County, Adams County, Boulder County, Larimer County, El Paso County, Arapahoe County, Jefferson County, and many others.
Colorado Drunk and Drugged Driving Laws
A person is typically arrested for driving under the influence (DUI) when he or she has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 or higher. An individual with a BAC of 0.05 or higher may be charged with the crime of driving while ability impaired (DWAI).
The Colorado Department of Transportation (CDOT) states that a person can be arrested for DUI if he or she has five nanograms of active tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in his or her whole blood. Police officers can also base marijuana-related DUI arrests simply on observed impairment.
Colorado Dram Shop Laws
Bars or other establishments where alcohol was served used to be called dram shops. A dram referred to a small unit of alcohol that was about one-eighth of an ounce.
Today, dram shop laws refer the liability of establishments that serve alcohol when a patron then causes an automobile accident. Under Colorado Revised Statute § 12-47-801(3), a vendor of alcoholic beverages can be held civilly liable when he, she, or it serves alcohol to a person who is under 21 years of age (a minor) or a person who was visibly intoxicated.
Additionally, Colorado Revised Statute § 12-47-801(4) further states that a social host—a private individual who is not a licensed vendor of alcoholic beverages—can also be held liable for serving alcohol to a minor if that person under 21 years of age then causes a car accident. Dram shop and social host laws allow additional avenues for drunk driving accident victims to pursue compensation, which can be useful when the person charged with drunk driving may not have the financial resources to pay full and fair compensation.
Find a DUI Accident Attorney in Colorado
Did you sustain serious injuries or was your loved one killed in a crash caused by a drunk or drugged driver in Colorado? Need an Injury Lawyer Colorado can be your legal advocate and fight to hold all negligent parties fully accountable.
You can contact our firm 24/7 to arrange a free, no-obligation consultation at which our experienced personal injury attorneys will provide a complete evaluation of your case. We handle every case on a contingency fee basis, meaning that you pay us absolutely nothing if we do not get you a monetary award.